Originally built as a single storey building as a staging inn for mail coaches which came via the coast road from Wick. In the 1861 census it was listed as the Prince of Wales Inn but by 1871 it had become the Berriedale Inn and you can still see the iron rings for hitching horses besides the front door. The hotel continued as a coaching inn for the Castle of Mey. The Berridale Arms was converted into a hotel during the 70's and 80's and has various upgrades by previous owners. The name was finally changed to the Castle Arms Hotel in the mid 80's as guests thought that the Berridale Arms was in Berridale and not Mey.
The hotel still retains much of its character and charm with the thistles above each of the dormer windows and a cockeral above the main entrance. Currently there are 3 rooms and 1 suite inside the main hotel and 5 rooms around the courtyard which was originally the old stable block. We have a restaurant which uses locally sourced seasonal produce and has a warm and relaxed atmosphere, there is also a friendly well stocked bar that you can relax in after a days sightseeing.
The hotel is situated on the North Coast 500 (A836) in the village of Mey and only a short distance from the late Queen Mothers Highland home, the Castle of Mey. We are on the main tourist route for Thurso and John O'Groats and have six acres of woodland to the rear of the hotel which is open to our guests.
Mey and the surrounding area boast an abundance of sea birds and other wild life as well as wonderful beaches, coves and harbours to discover and explore. Plus attractions such as Camster cairns, Duncansby Stacks, Wick Heritage Centre and the Flagstone Trail to name but a few. Other activities in the area include sea and trout fishing, pony trekking, archery and golf amongst other things.We also have free secure overnight storage for bicycles and free parking for cars and motorbikes.
Below are some recent photos of the exterior.